Old Mack’s Tales

January 17, 2013

FORGETTING

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ron McKinney aka "OldMack" @ 7:44 pm

Forgetting

 

Forgetting The Score

Is bad enough,

Forgetting the name of the game

Is worse.

 

In this season on Sundays

Unlike other days of the week

The wife and I share the same room with the telly

Watching two goups maul each other

 

How do you tell them apart?

Their uniforms are different, dear.

But they both have stylized raptors on their headgear

And look, they have their bloody hands all over the ball.

 

I’ve forgotten the score and which team won,

But that doesn’t matter, does it?

It was the way they played the game,

Despite the pain it must have cost.

 

I’ve forgotten the pain I’ve inflicted too,

While knowing there must have been plenty.

I only dimly recall a few of the brawls,

When I gave as good as I got.

 

I remember when I and my wife were slim,

She wore long jersey gowns with paisley prints

Which clung to her like a second skin and turned me on

Knowing she was naked under it.

 

We’ve aged together and the first thing we ask each other is:

What day is this?  It’s Sunday, shall we watch the game?

Which game are they playing today?

I believe it’s the world series of football, or something like that.

1 Comment »

  1. oh Mack, this is beautiful, the forgetting and the remembering. I want to post this over my computer so I can read it again and again. You have such talent and your words matter so much. When I got to the part about remembering your wife under her clothing, I cried. Truth Mack, this rings so true and isn’t that what writers want to portray when it’s all said and done?

    Comment by train-whistle — January 19, 2013 @ 5:55 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

